Watch today’s Pokemon Direct here

By Sherif Saed, Thursday, 9 January 2020 12:09 GMT

We’re getting some Pokemon news today.

Nintendo’s first Direct in the new year is one dedicated entirely to Pokemon. The show is 20-minutes long, and will air today at 6:30am PT, 9:30am ET, 2:30pm UK.

The timing of this particular Direct is interesting. We just came off a big release in Pokemon: Sword and Shield, so we’re not really anticipating any big game announcements.

Despite selling very well, Sword and Shield was not especially well received by longtime fans due to the developer’s decision to limit the Pokemon player can transfer to it.

It’s doubtful a change this massive could be reversed, but Game Freak may yet have a few tricks up its sleeves. Beyond that, we’re likely getting a fresh look at Pokemon Home, a service that lets players transfer Pokemon into different games.

You can follow along the show below:

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.